TO DO: Knit & Sew

UPDATES

One thing that I’ve always wanted to do is make my own clothing. First, I just wanted to knit sweaters and vests, because I thought it was the coolest thing ever. My Grandma always knitted things like washcloths and towels and she was able to slam out hundreds of these things in a day. It was mesmerizing. But as an 11-year-old, I wanted sweaters and vests.

I learnt how to knit, just the basics. Enough that I’ve managed to make a bunch of headband-like devices (although I’m sure they could be used otherwise). Then, when I got pregnant with Carter, I started experiencing intense joint pain in my hands and basically gave up on knitting. I’ve never learnt how to do anything but the basic knit stich and I’ve never followed a pattern, so still no closer to that sweater or vest.

When I was about 14, I took a sewing class in school as an elective. I made a comfy pair of pajama pants and a beautiful medieval-inspired dress. I also made about a billion pillows! I absolutely loved sewing and if we hadn’t gotten rid of our sewing machine shortly after I learnt to sew, I probably would’ve kept on sewing like crazy.

It never occured to me, during all this time, to ever pick up hand sewing. Not until last night anyways, and then now it’s all I seem to be able to think about. All the things I could’ve been sewing all these years. You don’t need a machine to sew!

So now, I desperately want to get knitting needles, yarn, fabric, thread and sewing needles (plus, something to keep all those things organized in…), so that I can start learning how to do that – hand sew and make knitted sweaters and such. What I need to do is pick a “goal piece”, something to aspire to making specifically. Then, work towards learning what I need to know to be able to do it.

For example, I don’t know how to do any other hand sewing stitch than one that you use to close up the end of a pillow after you’ve stuffed it. And that was years and years ago that I last did that. So, for hand sewing, I need to get really good at perfecting certain types of stitches for my goal project.

It’s official, it’s a goal to get me some hand sewing materials.

One thought on “TO DO: Knit & Sew

Leave Your Thoughts...

