TO WRITE: Finish The Brighton Tales

A few years back, after reading The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice writing as A.N. Roquelaure, I was suddenly very inspired to write a story that it seemed I had been waiting my whole life to write.

The characters became vivid personalities in my mind and the plot spurted out without any force at all. I clearly saw the Kingdom of Brighton in all her glory and quickly knew that this was a tale of duty, honor, sacrifice, dominance, submission and most importantly, sex.

I sat in front of my computer and in 3 days had easily hashed out thousands of words on this story that nagged me with urgency. I remember complaining often that my hands hurt from typing so much so fast and the whole time The Boyfriend was commenting jealously, as his own story that he had imagined his whole life, sat untouched for weeks.

After this 3 day explosion of writing, I re-read what I wrote. And I realized that this was definitely the pre-first draft version. But I needed to get it down, get it out and it’s been an amazing framework to build off of. However, I’ve only been building ever since and I get stuck right around the same part every single time and therefore, The Brighton Tales is no closer to the end than it was when it began.

More and more everyday, I hear the characters that I’ve already written and the ones that I haven’t put to paper, calling me to finish their story. I have visions of the beautiful kingdom, the castle dungeon and the way of these people from another time, another place and how they lived their lives and the legacies they left behind. My thoughts are immersed in and consumed by The Brighton Tales.

And this is the reason why I MUST finish writing this story.

I haven’t quite figured out how I’m going to do it just yet. I’m experimenting with a few different options at the moment. I have some notes going in Google Drive, of course. This is where I tend to just slap my thoughts as they come along. Then, to organize that, I’m using LitLift, sorta. I was using it a lot and then it slowly started being used less often. I look at it pretty often…

My main focus is just to continue to write what I visualize and eventually it’ll all come together. I tend to get lost in doing things like character sheets or thinking about how I’m going to make it even better writing. But really, I just need to finish the story! Stop trying to force perfection and just let it happen naturally.

You can see that pre-first draft version here on the old Rantings. Just remember that it’s just a framework! And you can always follow My Writing & Erotica to stay updated on how The Brighton Tales is coming along.

3 thoughts on “TO WRITE: Finish The Brighton Tales

Leave Your Thoughts...

